What’s this all about?

So, you’ve somehow stumbled across this blog. Thanks! I have no idea how you got here, as I’m just starting out and things like “SEO” mean nothing to me, but I’m glad to have you.

Now… why should you stick around? I really hope that you will navigate over to the right-hand menu and decide to follow this here blog, but I also get that I haven’t done much just yet to convince you that this blog can hold your interest for the long run. What’s the point of this blog? Why should you care?

The title of this blog, “Being Your Change,” says a lot about what I hope to accomplish here. One of my favorite quotes comes from Mahatma Gandhi:

Change has to start with you. You need to be your own change. If you want to live a healthier lifestyle, feel stronger, and improve yourself, you have to start by making the decision to pursue positive changes. My goal with this blog is to document my own process of deciding to “be the change,” and to help others to find the right changes to make for their own healthier lifestyles.

So, what will that actually entail?

  • Workout reviews and recommendations. I love trying new things and plan to review them here. I’m based in the Boston area so many studio reviews will be from this area, but I do travel a lot, so I’ll try to feature fitness classes from other locations as well. I’ll also feature DVDs and YouTube series that are accessible anywhere, anytime!
  • Healthy meal ideas and recipes. I love to cook! I’m a big fan of clean eating and try to avoid processed foods whenever possible. When I find a recipe that works for me, I will share it here.
  • Fitness news and controversies. There’s a lot of information out there. I don’t pretend to be an expert – I don’t have a degree in medicine, nor do I have any certifications in nutrition. However, I do consider myself someone who likes to stay abreast of news stories. When I read an article that interests me, I’ll share it here with commentary.
  • Balancing a busy life with a healthy life. It’s really easy to make excuses. I work a full time job and also volunteer 20 hours a week with a local non profit. For years, I used those commitments to justify skipping workouts or grabbing takeout instead of cooking a healthy meal. I still struggle with balance, especially figuring out how to have a full social life in my late 20s without feeling like I’m making sacrifices.
  • Successes and failures. When things work out, they should be shared and celebrated – and when they’re a disaster, well, there’s something to learn from there, as well. I will put it all out there, my highs and my lows, and I hope you’ll come along for the ride.

Writing has always been a part of my life – from the locked pink diary when I was 8, to the emo kid livejournal in high school (admit it, you had one too!), and now this is just another iteration. I felt I needed to write about my journey in order for it to feel complete. I invite you to join me on this path and I look forward to learning and exploring with you!

What changes do you want to see in your own life? How could I help you to realize this goals? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

