Music Monday: All About That Bass

I don’t know about you, but music is a HUGE factor in the success or failure of my workouts. If I go out for a run, I better have a bitching playlist, or I’m not going to get much further than the end of my block. My iPod is stocked with great playlists and workout mixes, cultivated from a lot of sources. I plan to dedicate Mondays to sharing some favorite music with you!

Saturday morning, I took a few classes at my happy place. One of my favorite instructresses, Diana – someone who I look up to as a model for the type of fitness and wellness that I aspire to achieve – played this song during both her Arms & Abs and her Poise classes. During Poise, she played it during the notorious “Arms of Death” sequence — and trust, that sequence hurts even more than usual when it comes at the end of a crazy triple! Check out the burn from her three classes that day:

Crushing it with Diana's Saturday SP Triple - Zumba, Arms & Abs, and Poise!

Crushing it with Diana’s Saturday SP Triple – Zumba, Arms & Abs, and Poise!

Anyway, I digress. Back to the point of this post… The song! I feel like any preliminary description just won’t do it justice, so check out the video:

I mean, HOW GREAT IS THIS VIDEO?! The song is “All About That Bass,” by Meghan Trainor [iTunes download / Stream on Spotify]. The song itself fits my criteria for a great workout jam – the beat is fantastic! I will definitely be using this for arms, because I like to have a beat that makes me want to shimmy my booty so I forget how much my arms are screaming out for relief. It will probably also make its way onto a few running playlists for a little oomph.

But more than just the beat, can we pause for a moment and talk about the lyrics? I love that Meghan Trainor is laying down some truth for the world. I relate so strongly to this:

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
Like I’m supposed to do
Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase
And all the right junk in all the right places

I see the magazines workin’ that Photoshop
We know that shit ain’t real
C’mon now, make it stop
If you got beauty beauty, just raise ’em up
Cause every inch of you is perfect
From the bottom to the top

In the words of drag queens everywhere…. YAAAASSSSS!

This blog is all about my journey toward fitness and wellness, but let’s be real here. I’m 5’9″ and I am never in my life going to be a size 2… or a 4 or a 6, for that matter. I would frankly not want to see myself at that size, because I don’t think it would be healthy and it certainly wouldn’t feel like me. I’m a tall girl with an athletic build, and I am proud of my hourglass shape. I have been working damn hard for the past two years to get a defined waist again, don’t get me wrong, but I am also in a constant battle with myself to remember that all of this is for the ultimate goal of an overall healthy life.

It’s not about a number on the scale. It’s not about the size of your jeans. It’s not about how many dudes swipe right on your Tinder profile (which, ugh, Tinder. Why. Just… no. That’s another post for another day, though.) At the end of the day, it’s how you feel in your body. And I want nothing more than to carry myself with the confidence that Meghan Trainor exudes in this video. Get it, girl.

Leave a Reply

