Introducing Thirsty Thursdays!

If you’re anything like me, the term “Thirsty Thursday” conjures up memories of your college days, red solo cups, and a LOT of cheap beer. Well, that’s not what this blog’s version of Thirsty Thursday is all about. That’s partially how I ended up in such crappy shape in the first place – my partying habits wanted to keep pretending I was in college, and my late 20-something metabolism just wasn’t cooperating.

Instead, this Thirsty Thursday will be about sharing recipes for my favorite meal of the day – my Shakeology! I introduced Shakeology into my diet about a month ago and I’m so impressed with the changes I’ve seen in my eating habits. I have dramatically reduced my coffee intake; I used to get crippling caffeine headaches if I skipped coffee for a day, but after two weeks of ShakeO, I found that I wasn’t craving the caffeine and I wasn’t feeling any negative effects. Now, when I treat myself to a coffee, it’s just that – a treat to enjoy, rather than something to get me through the day. I’ve also seen a huge reduction in sugar cravings. I have a serious sweet tooth. I love desserts, and nothing calms me down like some dark chocolate on a bad day at the office. Shakeology has helped to really reduce those cravings and again, now when I choose to indulge, it’s something I am doing mindfully, rather than caving to a craving.

There are a lot of Shakeology recipes out there already. One issue I have is that many of them rely on processed foods for additional flavorings – things like pudding mixes or artificial flavorings. I strive to eat clean whenever possible, so the recipes I share on this blog will strive to include ingredients as close to their original form as possible.

Today's Thirsty Thursday recipe: Banana Pudding Shakeology!

Today’s Thirsty Thursday recipe: Banana Pudding Shakeology!

Banana Pudding Shakeology
This is one of my favorite shakes for days when I need some extra potassium to soothe my muscles after a tough workout, or for days when I’m feeling especially hungry in the morning and need something that will carry me into my day. 

  • 2 small bananas
  • 1 scoop Vanilla Shakeology
  • 1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 0.5 tsp ground nutmeg (I use fresh ground, but jarred is fine too!)
  • 0.5 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 0.5 cup water
  • Ice

Blend all ingredients for 30-60 seconds, depending on the speed/power of your blender, until well combined. Enjoy!

 

Note: As an independent Beachbody coach, I receive a discount on my monthly Shakeology shipment, but I paid for all ingredients used in this post. Regarding ShakeO: While I use and love the product, please note — These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

 

2 thoughts on “Introducing Thirsty Thursdays!

Leave a Reply

