What drives you?

Life wouldn’t be life without a few stumbles along the way, am I right?

It’s week 2 of my Focus T25 challenge, and I’ve encountered my first roadblock. I was away over the weekend for a boating trip with some great friends, and I arrived home a lot more run down than I anticipated. The combination of sun, swimming, and socializing (specifically the sangria, in the interest of total honesty!) knocked me out flat, and I didn’t get in my Monday T25 workout.

Here’s the thing: I didn’t give up. I just decided that this week would begin on Tuesday, and I’d get my double session in on Saturday instead of Friday. A huge part of the reason I went with T25 for this first challenge was the ease of working it into my schedule, and this week, that means I just choose a different day to start the calendar.

When you stumble, it’s important to get back up and keep moving forward. Don’t let missteps derail your progress. To that end, it’s a good idea to always have in mind what it is that’s driving you forward.

eliot motivation quote

Original photo credited to Flickr user pfly – edited under terms of Creative Commons license

What’s my motivation? The biggest one is striving for overall wellness. I began my journey toward a healthier lifestyle following a cancer diagnosis. It was a real wake up call for me – there are so many things I can’t control, but my lifestyle is well within my ability to reshape and improve. Through eating clean and making exercise a regular part of my daily routine, I’ve found a healthier version of myself. I love feeling stronger. I have more energy and I feel like my life is fuller now. I’m not afraid to try new things and I trust my body to get me through whatever challenges I face.

That’s what got me out of bed this morning and in front of the TV with Shaun T — the drive to continue to be better. I don’t ever want to be back to where I was when I began this journey. I want to keep moving forward to a brighter, fuller life.

What motivates you? What keeps you moving toward your ultimate goals? Have you experienced setbacks that you had to overcome? Tell me about them in the comments!

2 thoughts on “What drives you?

  1. Finding motivation is SO HARD. My motivation is in getting rid of the severe allergies I’ve had FOREVER so that I can live the life I want (lots of land, outdoorsy time, and animals). I started allergy shots in January and I just wanted them to work… which meant getting healthier and taking better care of myself. Changing how I eat has made my body more responsive to the shots, so that I can hug ALL THE DOGS and then go mow my lawn and not need an epi pen. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

