Weekend update

Just a quick update before the weekend:

T25 challenge is still going strong! I decided I’ll post STATurday updates after Week 1, Week 3, and Week 5. The official reasoning? Two week windows are more likely to demonstrate progress. The unofficial, probably TMI reasoning (stop reading here, male readers – I’ll let you know when it’s safe to dive in again)? It’s that time of the month, I’m crazy bloated, and I would rather skydive naked than post my measurements for the whole internet to read…or, you know, all 4 of you that actually read this regularly. Hi mom!

Sidebar rant: Is there anything in the world worse than having your body actively fight against your efforts to live a healthier lifestyle for one out of every four weeks? Between cravings (yes, yes I did cave and have some chips and salsa yesterday after battling cravings for three hours), cramps that seem to flare up right before you hit the mat for pilates ab work, and generally feeling so tired and grumpy that you would much rather sit on your couch watching “Don’t Be Tardy…” on Bravo than get up and let Shaun T kick your ass for 25 minutes… this is kind of the worst. Ladies, can I get an amen?

Okay, rant over. Guys, you can safely begin reading again. 

How are you all staying fit this weekend? I survived my second Friday Double session of Focus T25 this morning, and I’m very excited to take an outdoor yoga class tonight. Poise Stretch and Tone was the first class I ever took at Studio Poise, way back in late February of 2013. The class is a hybrid of yoga and pilates, and I love taking the class now and noting how far I’ve come in my fitness journey. Things like side plank and dancer pose used to be totally outside the realm of what my body could handle, and now when I hold those poses in class I feel really proud! Tonight’s class will be held at Red Rock Park in Lynn, MA. Can’t wait, and can’t imagine a better way to kick off my weekend.

How's this for a gorgeous view for some sunset Poise?

How’s this for a gorgeous view for some sunset Poise?

I’ll also be joining my cousin for a few hours of kayaking on Sunday through Boating in Boston, at their gorgeous UMass Boston location. It’s supposed to be a beautiful day, and I’m excited to get out on a kayak for the first time this season and see how it feels with my new & improved arm strength.

What are your plans for the weekend? I hope you’re all taking advantage of these last few weeks of summer!

2 thoughts on “Weekend update

    • There’s a modifier! You can follow her if it’s too tough. Also, Shaun T does not take breaks… so have the remote ready to hit pause because OH BOY breaks are necessary sometimes. Also, Total Body Circuit is THE WORST. I’m warning you now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

