It’s not about the starting line.

I’ve been on a bit of a self-improvement kick lately. Physical wellness is only one aspect of overall health, so I’m trying to be more conscious of the mind/body/spirit connection. My professional life, in particular, is the area of my life that I feel needs the most work – it’s been a very rocky year in my division and I’m mindful that I should be continuing to learn and develop my professional skills in order to remain competitive in a challenging environment.

I stocked up on some personal development books to help reframe how I think about my career and my professional progress. Right now, I’m about a third of the way through John C. Maxwell’s Sometimes You Win–Sometimes You Learn: Life’s Greatest Lessons Are Gained from Our Losses. I highly recommend it to anyone who is going through a period of change and disruption in their professional lives, but that’s not my primary aim in mentioning it here. I’m finding the text is also very relevant on my weight loss journey. Maxwell’s insights on learning from failures are proving to be incredibly helpful in demonstrating how to put a positive spin on moments of weakness or stumbles along the path toward wellness.

In particular, I wanted to share the below quote.

Background image reused from Flickr user LindsayEnsing under the terms of the Creative Commons license.

Background image reused from Flickr user LindsayEnsing under the terms of the Creative Commons license.

Each of us started somewhere. If you haven’t yet begun your journey toward wellness, ask yourself – what’s holding me back? Today, right now, right where you are, can be your starting point. Keep your eye on where you want to be and always continue working toward the goal. The finish line may feel like it’s miles away, but every good choice you make brings you closer to your goal.

What goals are you currently working toward? How do you keep yourself motivated to continue working toward your personal finish line?

2 thoughts on “It’s not about the starting line.

  1. Sometimes I think the mental and spiritual goals are harder to achieve than the physical! I am working on cleaning up my diet after a vacation, adding in low impact workouts to my running training and always on stress management! I’ll have to check out the book. Sounds like a good read!

    Like

    • John C. Maxwell has a ton of books on leadership and professional development – I started with this one but there are many options to check out if you like his style! I hope to add more book reviews as this blog “grows up”. Thanks for the support!

      Like

Leave a Reply

