Friday Roundup

T-G-I-mother-effing-F, guys. It has been a week. But Friday is finally here, and that means the weekend, and that means…

For the record, my 29-year-old self considers the following to be a successful, kick-ass weekend: getting off the wait list for Sunday morning piloxing, fitting in time for a pedicure, spending time on food prep for the coming week, and making it to the farmer’s market on Saturday morning before everything is already picked over. I know, I know. Try to contain your excitement, my life is beyond thrilling.

It’s been a completely insane week, so I was a little nervous that this roundup might be on the sparse side, but luckily my ADD internet habits paid off despite wall-to-wall meetings and personal commitments. What can I say? I’m a giver.

Book rec: Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You

Betsy Myers spoke at my office about a month ago, and I finally got around to purchasing her book this week. She served as the chief operations officer for Obama’s 2008 campaign, worked in the Clinton administration, spent several years at the Kennedy School, and currently serves as the founding director of Bentley University’s Center for Women and Business. Much of her insight rings true to me as a female in a management role, but it also resonates with my personal interest and investment in leadership and helping others to find their inner leaders. She organizes her book around seven basic tenets: authenticity, connection, respect, clarity, collaboration, learning, and courage. I highly recommend checking out this book – I’m loving it and it’s definitely helping me to improve my business skills.

Sunday Funday – The Quest for Healthier Football Snacks

Fall is here, and that means the triumphant return of Sunday Funday. I live for fantasy football, red zone, and spending my Sundays on the couch or at a bar watching the Patriots. Let’s be real for a minute here – it’s really freaking difficult to feel like I’m indulging in a relaxing Sunday Funday without totally undoing my healthy living efforts for the previous week. That means just saying no to the nachos and pitchers of beer, but I have been spending more time combing Pinterest for healthy twists on some of my favorite football snacks. I created a Sunday Funday Pinterest board to help keep track of my finds, and I’m very excited to try this Baked Buffalo Cauliflower Dip this weekend. I’ll be subbing low fat cream cheese and reduced fat shredded cheese, and may also incorporate some shredded chicken for a protein boost.  (Yes, I know that gif has absolutely nothing to do with healthy football snacks, but I will never ever ever skip the opportunity to share the #buttfumble. Sorry, not sorry.)

New Fitness DVDs to Try! The Firm Zip Trainer Medicine Ball Kit

I was at book club last night and mentioned offhand that I wanted to try a bosu ball style workout as one of my next adventures. One thing led to another, and I ended up leaving book club outfitted with this DVD set! Our super generous book club host (who happens to be my former AP English teacher and a kickass educational blogger – check out her stuff at Scholastic, the Center for Teaching Quality, and HuffPost.) offered up this set; she had tried it and it didn’t really click with her preferred workout style, so she passed it along to me to try out. I can’t wait to tackle this over the weekend and will definitely report back on my experiences!

 10K Training Update

As you may recall from last week’s Friday roundup, I signed up for my first 10K! I’ll be running the Firefighters’ Memorial 10K on October 19, 2014. I’m fundraising for College Bound Middle School in Dorchester, MA – click here to donate! – and have just about 5 weeks to get myself into decent enough running shape that I won’t be totally mortified by my time. On a friend’s recommendation, I decided to check out Jeff Galloway’s training program. Naturally his 10K training is set up for 13 weeks… so I’m a little behind the curve… but I’m willing to try anything! I tried Couch to 5K when I ran my first race last December and the program really didn’t work for me – I just wasn’t a fan. I’m excited to try Galloway’s system of alternating run/walk intervals to help improve my time and build up my endurance. Galloway is also the go-to training system for the RunDisney events, and as I’m hoping for my first half marathon to be the 2015 Wine and Dine half with Dheerja, I figured now is as good a time as any to try out the system. Updates to follow!

What were your highlights for the past week? Any tips for me as I approach my first 10K?

Leave a Reply

