Monday Motivation – Get It Done!

I have to say, I am loving New England weather this week. I woke up to chilly fall temps this morning, and I am so excited to get home tonight and go for a run in my new sneakers. I love running in the fall – it’s such a nice relief after the sweltering heat of the summer, and it doesn’t have the punishing wind aspect of winter running. I’m super grateful that the temps are hitting my sweet spot just as I’m ramping up my 10K training. Five weeks to go!

It’s nice to start off Monday feeling good about the week – but that doesn’t mean I couldn’t benefit from a little #MondayMotivation to keep my spirits high! Sharing a few quotes/images that jumped out at me over the past week.

 

I think part of the reason I’m starting my week on such a positive note has to be the effort I put into preparing for the week over the past two days. I spent a good chunk of my weekend on food prep, so I have a tasty, healthy lunch to look forward to today, and I also listened to my body and made time for workouts on both Saturday and Sunday. I usually take Sunday as a rest day, but I signed up for Stretch & Tone yesterday morning because my body was crying out for some quality time on the mat. Starting the day off with that class set the tone for success, and I actually ended up going for a three mile run as well, and felt great the entire time!

I also tried a recipe for protein pancakes over the weekend, courtesy of Katrina and Gabrielle. They’ve been singing the praises of this recipe for some time now, and I finally got around to buying the ingredients. Not only is this recipe super easy to make, it’s also a blank slate that can be jazzed up however you desire. I’m posting the basic recipe below, and will share successful variations as I try them out!

Basic Protein Pancakes 
Makes three pancakes, approximately 330 calories total

1/2 cup oats (either old fashioned or quick cooking – whatever you have on hand)
1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese
1/2 cup egg whites

Using your blender, combine the ingredients on high speed until it reaches a smooth, batter-like consistency. I use my Vitamix for about 15 seconds on a low speed to start the process of breaking down the oats, then increase to high speed for another 30-45 seconds total.

Heat up a pan or griddle – I’m lucky enough to have access to a well seasoned cast iron griddle that churns out perfect pancakes every time, but use whatever works for you! Spray with nonstick cooking spray and cook for about 2 minutes on the first side, flip, and cook for another 1-1.5 minutes.

Variations:

Blueberry: Add frozen blueberries to the batter after pouring onto the griddle. Serve with sugar free syrup.

Chocolate Peanut Butter: Add 1 tbsp PB2 to the blender when making the batter. After pouring the batter onto the griddle, add a sprinkling of chocolate chips to the pancake.

Leave a Reply

