Friday Roundup: I’m BAAAACK!

It has been an inexcusably long time since I last posted, and I sincerely apologize. I took a hiatus from blogging while I was on vacation last week, and while I had the best of intentions to get back to things earlier this week, real life had other plans. I’ve been dealing with some health-related matters with my family, and while things are back on track now, it’s definitely been a difficult few days.

I will be back to regular posting next week, and I wanted to make sure to get a quick Friday Roundup post up before the weekend. Here are some of the things I’ve stumbled across this week that I’m excited to share with you guys!

Weekend Recipe Adventure

Two-Ingredient Apple Almond Butter, courtesy of Wine & Dine to the Finish Line

I began following Cassy earlier this year and definitely recommend checking out her blog – I love the variety of content on her site! Earlier this week she posted a super simple recipe for apple almond butter. The apple butter comes together in the crock pot, and you then blend it with homemade almond butter. YUM. I am probably going to expand on the two ingredient list for my version, as I love the flavor of traditional fall spices like nutmeg and cinnamon, but I appreciate that Cassy’s recipe relies on apples for their natural sweetness and avoids adding extra sugar or artificial flavorings. I borrowed the image above from her blog – click it to follow through to her original post, which includes the recipe.

Gotta-Have-It Fashion Purchase: New Puffer Vests

My office apparently has not gotten the memo that fall has officially arrived in New England. I’ve officially reintroduced boyfriend sweatpants, tights & boots, and puffy vests back into my closet. That last item is a necessity for surviving my cubicle, so my current challenge is finding vests that are functional enough to keep me warm without turning me into the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man. Luckily, vests are all over the place this fall! I’ve pulled together a few of my favorites, below – click on any of the individual thumbnails for information on purchasing. I can’t wait to get my hands on a few of these – the camo and the poka dot ones are even on sale right now!

Fall 2014 Vests

Grocery Store Find: Unsweetened Starbucks Iced Coffee

Starbucks Unsweetened Iced Coffee

I know, I know… I said I had given up iced coffee. And that’s still sort of true. The Dunkin Donuts drive through was a standard stop on my morning commute, but I’ve since kicked that habit. However, work has been pretty intense lately, and I found myself really missing an iced coffee to sip during stressful meetings. Enter this beverage, my new grocery store best friend. For $4.99, you get 48 ounces of Starbucks brewed iced coffee. I find that this lasts me a full week at work, so it’s still a significant savings over my daily Dunks habit. It’s also unsweetened, so having it over ice with a splash of skim milk (or almond or coconut milk, whatever floats your boat) isn’t much of an indulgence, calorie-wise. I will also say that I love having this on hand to blend with my morning Shakeology – much easier than having to remember to brew coffee the night before!

New Fitness Routine to Try: P90


P90 90-Day Body Transformation for Everyone

There’s a new P90 routine available through Beachbody. I have heard a lot about the P90 series of fitness routines; they promise a total body transformation in 90 days. I’ve seen some other bloggers with incredible results, but I have also heard that some of the routines can be pretty intense, so I wasn’t sure there was a routine that would be the right fit for me, as I still find myself pretty heavily modifying on my T25 workouts.

Enter P90. Tony Horton took his existing P90 model, with its proven results, and modified it so that it could be used by people who are looking to increase their fitness level while avoiding anything too extreme. I’ll let the Beachbody product description help me out with describing the specifics:

P90 works because of a game-changing technique called Sectional Progression. Tony eases you into a variety of cardio, strength, and stability moves that work the back, shoulders, chest, biceps, triceps, and legs—and every move helps strengthen and flatten the abs. These routines don’t get harder until you’re ready for the next challenge. Then, just when you’ve mastered those moves, he ups the ante a little more.

The all-new P90 workouts are arranged in 3 Progressive Phases designed to gradually ease your body past its old limits. So after 30 days of P90, you’re leaner and more solid; after 60 days, you’re seeing muscles you’ve never noticed before; and by Day 90 you can finally have that lean, strong body you could once only dream about.

P90 is currently on sale as part of a challenge pack for only $160, which includes the full P90 DVD set (regularly $79.90) and a month of Shakeology (regularly $130). I’m super excited to place my order and give this program a try – let me know if you want to try it alongside me!

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Roundup: I’m BAAAACK!

  1. So glad you liked them and thank you for your sweet words about my blog :). I did the full 90 days of P90x years ago and I must say at that time in my life it was pretty tough to fit in the hour to hour and a half of working out 6 days a week. But, with that being said, it was probably the most toned I’ve ever been! Good luck!

    Like

    • That’s really helpful feedback, actually! I have been doing T25 as an at-home workout to complement the classes I take at a local studio, and while a half hour is manageable, more than that definitely would not be!

      Like

Leave a Reply

