Friday Favorites: Nov 14

Someday, all the lovely drafts I have waiting for my attention will see the light of day. Someday, they will become real posts. I promise I have lots of very valid excuses for the slow posting week! Once we get past November in my office, my real-world job should get back to a normal number of hours and leave me with some more time for this here blog.

I had my official measurements yesterday for the #6W2C challenge I’m doing at Studio Poise. I was bracing myself for bad news — seriously, October was a terrible horrible no-good very-bad month when it came to eating and exercising. However, I actually held steady in my legs and arms, and my chest, waist and hips are comparable to where I was at the midpoint of my previous challenge, so it wasn’t nearly as bad as it could have been. I also wore jeans this morning that were a celebratory down-a-size purchase earlier in the summer, so it just goes to show, don’t trust the scale. I have been doing a lot more lifting and strength training and I’m excited to see that pay off as I clean up my diet and get back into the clean eating, meal-prep swing of things.

With that good news out of the way, how about we dive into a little Friday Favorites? Once again, I’m linking up with Housewife Glamour, Fitting It All In, and Running4Cupcakes. Make sure to check out the linkups and share some love with the other bloggers participating!

Favorite New Kitchen Purchase: TFal Nonstick Pan

Embarrassing confession: I have a master’s degree and graduated from an Ivy League university, but I was 29 years old before I learned how to properly cook an egg. I shudder to think about how much money I gave to local breakfast joints for egg sandwiches before I mastered the art of a fried egg! Omelets, however, continued to elude me. I just could not get the hang of it – until this pan entered my life. The nonstick surface is amazing, and the heat indicator in the center of the pan tells me when it’s time to add the eggs. BAM, suddenly I can cook omelets like a pro. And yes… this does mean I’ve had an omelet for dinner pretty much every night this week after getting home from the gym. I am keeping the egg industry in business these days.

Favorite Treat Yo’ Self Moment: Sunday Dinner at Loretta’s 

Country bar demands country hair. Also, is it just me, or do drinks just taste better when served in mason jars?

Country bar demands country hair. Also, is it just me, or do drinks just taste better when served in mason jars?

Have I mentioned that I really, REALLY love country music? I do. A lot. So when I needed to pick a place to meet friends for dinner and drinks Sunday night before the Andrew McMahon concert, I suggested Loretta’s Last Call, a relatively new addition to the Fenway area here in Boston. I had heard good things about the food there – yummy Southern homestyle cooking! – and the drinks were supposed to be amazing (ALL. THE. MOONSHINE.) We were super excited to find that they had a band playing covers of current pop-country to accompany our dinner. The vibe of the place was great! Now, this dinner definitely fell into the “cheat meal” category, but I had taken a spin class earlier that day and was prepared to dance my butt off at the concert, so I didn’t feel too bad. I will also say that compared to some other Southern restaurants I’ve been to, both in Boston and elsewhere, the portions at Loretta’s felt very reasonable. Sure, you’re still eating fried chicken, but it’s not an entire bird on your plate plus a mountain of sides, so it’s not as unhealthy as it could be. I’m really excited to come back here with friends who are bigger fans of country music, as I think they’ll love the place as much as I did!

Favorite Beauty Tool: Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1

I swear, as soon as November hits, my skin starts warring against me. My lips, in particular, are definitely NOT fans of cold weather. I have had issues with chapped and peeling lips for my entire life, and I’ve tried basically every lip balm on the market – from the $2 Chapstick at the CVS checkout all the way up to the super pricy Fresh Sugar Lip Balm (which IS amazing… but I can’t justify $25 for a tube of something that I am absolutely 100% going to lose multiple times over the course of the winter). I got a tube of Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1 in a gift set a few winters ago, and it totally changed my life. I have tubes of this stashed everywhere – in my purse, in my desk drawer at work, in the pocket of my ski jacket, you get the picture. At $7, it’s a price I’m comfortable spending, especially since the tube seems to last forever. It’s the only thing that can keep my lips looking and feeling good through the harsh New England winters. I like to look for gift sets around this time of year – Kiehl’s offers great gift combos, and last year I picked up several 4-packs of the lip balm in a variety of flavors. I gave them out as stocking stuffers for friends, and kept a few for myself, as well.

Disclaimer: I haven’t been paid by any of the above-referenced companies. These are all things I genuinely love, and I’m not getting anything in return for mentioning them on this lil’ blog. 

4 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Nov 14

Leave a Reply

