Introducing: Web Roundups

I’m super excited to roll out this new biweekly feature on Being Your Change. I spend a lot of time on the internet, and I’m constantly saving things that I find interesting. The problem is, I save them all over the place! I retweet fitness and health related tweets, I pin interesting recipes and posts, and I use Bloglovin’ to save things that I don’t share elsewhere. I have the best intentions of eventually sharing them with you all, but without a dedicated post to do just that, they often end up getting lost!

So, every other week, I’ll share some of the posts that I found and enjoyed. I’ll try to keep them current, but I do often stumble on older articles or resources when I’m killing time on ye olde interwebs, so there may be a golden oldie in here from time to time.

So, without further ado, here they are – the links I’m digging this week!

best of web banner

The Power of Dinner Templates, from The Kitchn: This post is from a relatively new series on The Kitchn, “Loving Food While Losing Weight,” authored by Joy Manning. I highly recommend reading through all of Joy’s posts, as the content is really wonderful. This particular post resonated with me because it’s such a realistic way to meal plan. Joy’s “dinner template” idea is just what it sounds like – a very basic guideline to use that keeps grocery shopping and cooking fairly simple. My favorite template? A rice bowl – brown rice with some sort of protein (chicken, tofu, beef), whatever veggies I have on hand (either a stir fry, or roasted veggies leftover from another meal, etc) and a healthy fat (sometimes I make a greek yogurt sauce; other times I add avocado).

24 nutrition-based infographics, shared by Pulptastic: Thanks to Buzzfeed, there’s a crazy proliferation of listicle-based sites floating around. I had never heard of Pulptastic until this week, when a friend on Facebook shared this list of infographics. Each image alone is worth saving, and the collection taken as a whole is super valuable. Definitely worth checking this out and pinning your favorites! Many of the images are reposted from health and fitness websites or magazines, so they’re from reliable sources.

30 minute total body circuit workout from Housewife Glamour: Heather’s blog is one of my favorites to follow, and this circuit workout has all the signs of a soon-to-be-favorite for me! It requires dumbbells or a resistance band, and it’s the perfect length for sneaking in a workout over my lunch hour. The building that houses my office opened a very basic gym that’s free for anyone who works here, and this is just the type of routine that will work well in that space. If I’m feeling ambitious, I might add some cardio to this to extend the workout a bit, but it’s also great as written. Best of all, Heather’s a personal trainer, and she provides great explanation on how to do each move, how to modify if need be, and demonstrates form. There’s nothing worse than finding a great workout printable only to realize you’re not sure how to do some of the steps!

Crock pot steel cut oatmeal, from Carrots ‘n Cake: Where has this recipe been all my life?! I love oatmeal but I hate the instant packets, and I don’t have time to make it on the stove in the morning. Since I started making steel cut oats in my crock pot, though, my breakfast has been on pointThis recipe, from Tina’s blog (another one of my fitness faves!), is a really basic starting point. I mix it up a little, using half almond milk and half water instead of all water, but the basic ratios and timing is about the same. These come out super thick and delicious! I also like adding some vanilla extract, cinnamon, and nutmeg while they’re cooking; not only does it taste great, but your house will smell amazing.

A Race to the Front Row, from the New York Times: I’ve never been to a Soul Cycle class, so this article came as a total surprise to me – and frankly, turned me off of the studio. This article, discussing the competition to get coveted front row spots at some fitness classes and what the position signifies, made me feel even more grateful for the awesome fitness communities I’m a part of. I will admit that I prefer to stand in the front row for my favorite Zumba classes, but it’s not out of some twisted sense of superiority – frankly I like that it’s close to a fan and it’s easier to dash across the front of the room to the bathroom if nature calls in the middle of a Pitbull song! Have any of you ever experienced this sort of front row madness?

What types of links would you like me to feature in future round ups? Any favorite blogs or websites that I should add to my list of regularly visited sites? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Introducing: Web Roundups

Leave a Reply

