2015: The Year of the Half Marathon

At some point in the past few months, I started telling people that 2015 would be the year I ran a half marathon. Because I’m crazy, and because I knew that if I told other people, I’d have to hold myself to that bold and insane announcement.

Well, this morning, I took the next step toward accomplishing that goal by registering for the B.A.A. Distance Medley.

This medley, hosted by the Boston Athletic Association, involves three races over the course of the year – a 5K in April, a 10K in June, and a half marathon in October. I ran the 5K last year and it was a blast; it’s during Marathon Weekend here in Boston and you can’t beat the energy in the air. I was really impressed with how well the B.A.A. organized and ran the event, so I’m looking forward to trying these other events. Signing up for the medley guarantees that I’ll have an entry in all three events, as they sell out SUPER fast, and will also help me to stay accountable to a training schedule.

I have heard that this particular half can be tough – my cousin, an experienced marathoner, compared it to a bad boyfriend, “because even though it hurts you and you hate it for causing you so much pain, you keep going back to it because you love it so much.” Um. Great. I probably should have listened to her, but I am a glutton for punishment, so when registration opened this morning at 10am, I pounced. The half marathon benefits the Dana Farber Cancer Institute and the Jimmy Fund, so that’s an extra incentive to get my butt on the road to train!

So, any tips for me, as a below-average runner attempting her first half marathon? Would love tips for great training routines, resources I should check out, or mistakes to avoid in the coming months. Let me know what worked – or didn’t work! – for you!

6 thoughts on “2015: The Year of the Half Marathon

  1. http://www.halfmarathons.net/half-marathon-training-schedule-for-beginning-runners/

    I used that training regiment for my first ever half marathon! I held myself to it and it really worked for me. I did this long before my first half so I ran right up to 13.1..if you are doing it right up to your race I would stop at 10 miles. If you can run 10, you can run 13. You don’t want to over do it too close to the race. Finishing your first 13.1 is a huge accomplishment and feels great!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

