Greek Veggie Quinoa Salad

Happy Monday! I spent a few hours yesterday prepping meals for the week and wanted to share a recipe with you. In preparations for the #bestfriendscleanse I’m starting in a few weeks, I’ve been collecting recipe ideas that fit in with the meal plan, and this Greek Veggie Quinoa Salad sounded so good, I just had to give it a try.

This is my spin on the Greek Chickpea Salad recipe in the Skinnytaste cookbook — I don’t love chickpeas in make-ahead salad because I think they get sort of gross by the end of the week, and I’m also not a huge fan of raw red onion in salads, because I find the flavor really overpowering.

greek veggie quinoa salad imageGreek Veggie Quinoa Salad (view & log on MyFitnessPal)greek veggie salad
Makes 5 servings, 16 ounces each

  • 1 cup quinoa, prepared*
  • 2 bell peppers (I used one red and one green – go with whatever looks good in the produce section!)
  • 4-5 persian cucumbers, or 2 cups chopped cucumber
  • 16 oz cherry tomatoes
  • 3 oz feta cheese
  • 4 oz pitted kalamata olives
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar

Chop all vegetables so they are roughly the same size. I like to cut my cherry tomatoes in half if they’re on the larger size; if they’re smaller, fine to leave them whole. Chop the olives as small as possible. Combine vegetables with feta and olives; mix so that all ingredients are well distributed. Add the olive oil and vinegar, as well as the salt and pepper, and mix well. Finally, add the quinoa 1/4 cup at a time, mixing well after each addition to ensure that the quinoa is well distributed through the salad. Portion out the servings; I used the 16-oz deli containers I mentioned in last Friday’s post and this recipe was the perfect amount to fill them.

*Ingredient tip: I love Trader Joe’s frozen grain options. Their frozen quinoa comes in 1-cup portions; heat them up for 3-4 minutes and you’re good to go! I always keep quinoa and brown rice on hands for recipes like this, when I don’t want to have to go through the hassle of making quinoa on the stove top. 

This recipe would be a great side dish with some grilled chicken or fish for lunch or dinner, or can stand alone as a snack. I packed it to have as my afternoon snack this week, along with a serving of Spark. I’m doing double workouts every afternoon this week to make up for the fact that I’ll be away all weekend indulging in one last summer vacation, so a heartier snack is in order to help get me through those workouts!

Leave a Reply

